Outreachy - Week Two!

Outreachy - Week Two!

I'm going to let this week's article follow the same sequence the last one did.

General Rant:

This week, I had to learn how to "shoot professional shots" as I needed help and figured it'd be better to get it from an experienced documenter. I write about it later in the article.

Task For The Week:

  • Try to duplicate this other cool documentation I saw or at least take major tips from them and make my organisation's documentation like that.

  • Use more inclusive texts in the documentation. I talk about this later in the article too.

Stuff I Learnt This Week:

  • How to shoot professional shots:

I got really stranded at some point and figured it's be better to ask for help from an experienced documenter.

dm.PNG

Picture of my shot.

dm2.PNG

Happy to announce I was granted an audience. I was really helped and I'm super grateful.

  • Some Tools/OS Community Focused on Helping With Inclusivity:

So, I'm on a call with my mentor during my weekly check-in and she mentions a resource I could try in the meantime to help out with the documentation Inclusivity and it's soooooo cool! Check it out here.

The open-source community does a lot of work honestly, and I didn't realise it until recently. I feel like it doesn't get as much pr as it should.

I'm officially a fan girl.

The community tries to make materials in the tech space inclusive.

After a little more snooping around in the community I found out about this other cool site.

So, in summary, what the site does is make documentation a little more inclusive by filtering out the words in your file. A little like Grammarly, but for inclusivity. It is free, and it has an extension you can add to your web browser.

witty3.PNG

Here's an example:

witty1.PNG

witty2.PNG

Putting these texts side by side, there's some modification.

Challenges:

  1. It's a little hard to get help on exactly how to do good documentation and even what exactly good and inclusive documentation is, especially in the Nigerian space; at least it was hard for me. I'm figuring it out better anyway, so that's good.

  2. Navigating the timezone, hehe. I was late to a standup session this week cos somehow I slept past my alarm. I'd try not to make it repeat itself though.

  3. Again, figuring out exactly what is "good documentation". I'm still learning up on this, so I think i'd have a clearer definition before my internship ends.

Pats on The Back:

  • My mentor says I'm doing great so far!

  • I have learnt so much about documentation in just the past week.

  • I've also learned to approach superiors about an issue whether I know them prior or not. So basically, I'm more open about seeking for help.

Tiny Fears?

  • What if I run out of ideas on what to contribute?

fear.jpg

  • Or worse, what if I get to a stage where I'm not doing enough? I don't want to imagine it. fear.jpg

Image Credits? Google Search.