Outreachy - Week Six

Outreachy - Week Six

Drum rolls, please!

drumrolls.jpeg

I'm officially past half my 12 weeks in Outreachy, and I haven't completely blown this up. At least I hope so. Hehe.

General Rant:

This week, I got past my blocker. My mentor was kind enough to get on another video call with me (apart from the one where we do a weekly sync), to explain exactly what was expected of me, answer my questions, and walk me through the processes. He even introduced me to other members of the community to help me out. I was super grateful to be honest.

My mentors at CHAOSS >>>>>>>>>

I'm happy to announce that I have since made progress since then. I made like three PRs already; at the time of this writing. Progress!

Stuff I Learned This Week:

  • Sometimes blockers can last longer than you expect.

  • It's okay to ask for help again if you don't understand the first explanations.

  • restructuredText markup language has existed longer than markdowns; which is why it is more popular. Also the syntax for .rst files are easier to understand than markdowns.

  • .rst will take a while for me to learn completely.

Pats On The Back:

  • I didn't pull my hair out for having a blocker.
  • I kept asking for help until I figured it out.
  • I got past my blocker.

Until next time...

blows kisses.avif