Outreachy - Week Seven

Outreachy - Week Seven

Theme - Modifying Expectations

General Rant

This past week was cool. It was really cool.

First off, I made PRs on the tasks expected of me.

I travelled during the week (again), and I gave a talk on documentation. Find my slides here.

I like the confidence and different part of tech i've been exposed to as an Intern under Outreachy for Augur. It's really cool, challenging and informative. I get to talk to people about my work, I get to learn more and find out that 'oh, all is not what it seems', hehe.

This Week's Theme for Outreachy is Modifying Expectations

I'd talk about it using the prompts given. They're in bold.

- What was your original internship project timeline?

Twelve weeks. Link to my initial timeline

- What goals have you met?

Most of them.

- What have you accomplished in the first half of your internship?

  1. Made my organization's doc more inclusive.
  2. Fixed typos, and made our sentence structure more important.
  3. Worked on the schema to better display how data is collected by Augur and explained the data collection terms and processes.

- What project goals took longer than expected?

Working on documenting the schema to demonstrate the various data Augur collects.

- Why did those project goals take longer than expected?

It was a little unfamiliar. The software that i would have used to make me understand it couldn't work properly on my OS as I was running ubuntu on my windows wsl. It was a little difficult to be honest, so i had to settle with a bunch of tradeoffs. I think that was the highest motivation i got to want a mac. My other option would have been to dual partition my system so Ubuntu would just be my core OS.

It was deeply upsetting to be honest.

I did get a suggestion to install Ubuntu desktop so I can make use of it in GUI though, but this was after I'd found a way around that task. I have gotten a mac, so it might not be so necessary, but I'd still get around to using Ubuntu GUI on a windows, for added knowledge.

I'm just grateful that my mentors kept answering my many questions and suggesting alternatives when my other options weren't working.

- How did I solve this?

Aside from using tradeoffs, i settled on using the explanations from my mentor to come up with a description for the different data tables collected by Augur, what they mean, and the different workers associated with them.

They're still definitely going to be reviewed by me, but for now, I think they are good.

- What would you do differently if you were starting the project over?

Understand it first, or at least try to understand what is expected of me in different ways. Then, don't hesitate to keep asking questions and maybe reach out to other members of the community as their different answers coupled with my mentor's would give me a broader understanding of what i should do.

- Which original goals needed to be modified?

In my case, I don't think modification is what i need. I think it's something more along the lines of getting new tasks and explicitly defining them. So I don't walk around in circles.

- What is your new plan for the second half of the internship?

Work.

Work harder, work smarter, set clearly defined goals and leave a good record by the time my internship is done.

Stuff I Learned This Week?

A lot, but these ones stood out.

  • You can do it, so go do it. Don't overthink stuff.

  • Stage fright is in your head. No matter how nervous you are, once you get on that stage, talk like a boss that you are. My friend Steven says the people are there to learn from you, teach them (paraphrased).

  • People respect you based on what they see, lol. The higher your perceived "status", the higher your social responsibility and people's expectations from you. God abeg.

  • I hate it when people keep talking over me. It's different when I am in a room to learn, but when what we're supposed to have is a one on one conversation, would you just listen for a bit? So whatever "advice" or "tips" you give aren't off point. Thank you.

  • I might honestly like public speaking. If you're seeing this, INVITE ME TO GIVE A TALK AT YOUR COMMUNITY! Not this month though (unless it's virtual), maybe sometime in October. I need a break so I can focus on work.

Pats On The Back?

  • I can do anything I put my mind to.

  • My talk:

IO3.jpeg

IOEnugu1.jpeg

IO4.jpeg

A picture of your girl.

IOenugu.jpeg

A picture of your girl with OGs.

Anything else?

  • I applied for a dev rel role at web3 company. I might be under-qualified in some aspects, but i'd love to see how it goes.
  • I got to see Sophia.
  • I got a new laptop, hehe.
  • I should be more grateful.
  • I am very proud of myself.
  • Oh, I should also try to attend more meetings in my organization.

Until next time...

Ciao amori miei

blows kisses.avif

Gif Credit? Google.