Outreachy - Week Four

Outreachy - Week Four

This week was different. I'm not sure how or why exactly, but it was.

Maybe because I was unwell for most of it?

Being sick meant I had to put a lot of things on hold and rest a lot.

I was still contributing though. My mentors said to rest, which I did, but once I got better, I made PRs.

I'm happy that I could do that.

PR.PNG

If this isn't love😍, hehe. Also worthy of note is the fact that I should work on better naming for my PRs.

Remember last week when I said I think the next few weeks of my internship might be more tasking than the previous ones? Yep, it's definitely happening. And to be honest, I'm thrilled by the amount of knowledge I would be gaining from this.

This week's outreachy chat consisted of us talking about a problem we might be facing.

Mine was the timezone issue and sometimes not being able to have an in-sync meeting with my mentors because of it. But we've sorted it out.

We had one this week.

Also worthy of note is that in keeping with mental health and taking a break, CHAOSS does a two-week hiatus, where we don't have general meetings for that period twice every year. It's super cool.

We had this session on the 17th of June to discuss maintainer burnout and related topics. It was really informative.

Stuff I Learned This Week:

  • restructuredText, and then more restructuredTextsyntax.

  • It's okay to take a break sometimes. Breaks are a part of the productivity hack.

  • There's Open Source Summit for pretty much every continent out there. Africa doesn't seem to have one - in fact, we've never hosted one. I think having an OSS community affiliated with the Linux Foundation is important.

Challenges:

  • Being unwell and trying to not feel terrible that I couldn't contribute effectively. As mentioned previously, my mentors said it was okay to rest, so my feelings of inadequacy were completely personal.

  • Figuring out how to do an OSS for Africa.

Pats On The Back?

I'm not sure...

  • Maybe the fact that I could make space to work regardless.

  • Oh, I got suggestions from a reader of these outreach posts who's also a member of my community. She's a GSOC intern. I appreciated the help and I'm proud of myself for making these posts consistently. I don't think we'd have met each other otherwise.

Anything Else?

  • I've been beating myself up all week that I didn't take a screenshot of the meeting I had this week with my mentors. They were both at OSSNA and it was a cool moment I'd have loved to have a picture to remember it.

giphy.gif

My core reason for being hesitant was because I didn't know if it was okay to do that, or if I'd be infringing on any privacy laws, etc.

I guess maybe next time; if there's ever going to be one, I'd just ask.

Also!

I've been an outreachy intern for almost a month now. Wow.

I'm not sure how that makes me feel. Somewhere between proud of myself, wanting to know more, and feeling like I haven't done enough. Hehe.

See you next week.

Au'voir.

rihanna-blowkiss.gif